About

What did they do-ooo-ooo to make a Klondike® bar?

Allow us to introduce ourselves …

Although the Klondike® Bar has its roots in America, its name rings Canadian. It’s rumoured that the bar was named after the Klondike River in Canada’s west central Yukon Territory, which was the famous site of the 1890s Gold Rush.

The origins of the Klondike® Bar can be traced back to William Isaly, the son of Swiss immigrants, who founded the Isaly Dairy Company in Ohio, USA, during the early 1900s. (So next time you bite into one of our frozen cubes of deliciousness, you can yell, “Thank you Papa William!”— Or not.)

The original Klondike® Bar was handmade by dipping square slices of homemade ice cream into pans of rich, delicious Swiss milk chocolate. In the 1940s, the Isaly family had several dairy plants that supplied Klondike Bars to more than 300 of their dairy stores.

Until the 1970s, the Klondike® Bar was sold only in Pennsylvania and Ohio. In 1978, distribution expanded into Florida, followed by New York and New England. Finally, in 1982, a nationwide advertising and publicity campaign was launched with the tag, “What would you do for a Klondike® Bar?” Soon Klondike® Bars were available in the majority of U.S. supermarkets.

In 1993, Unilever acquired the Isaly Klondike Company, and in the late 1990s, the company introduced Klondike® Bars to Canada. Ever since then, our delicious frozen treats have been a favorite among Canucks of all ages!

À propos

Quelles sont les origines de la barre Klondike®?

Permettez-nous de nous présenter …

Bien que la barre Klondike® ait ses racines aux États-Unis, son nom sonne plutôt canadien. On murmure que la barre a été nommée d’après la rivière Klondike®, située dans le centre-ouest du territoire du Yukon au Canada, le célèbre endroit de la ruée vers l’or en 1890.

Les origines de la barre Klondike® remontent à William Isaly, le fils d’immigrants suisses, qui ont fondé la société Isaly Dairy en Ohio, aux États-Unis, vers le début des années 1900. (La prochaine fois que vous mordrez dans l’un de nos délicieux cubes glacés, vous pourrez crier : « Merci papa William! » — Ou pas.)

La barre Klondike® originale était faite à la main en trempant des tranches carrées de crème glacée dans des casseroles de riche et délicieux chocolat au lait suisse. Dans les années 1940, la famille Isaly avait plusieurs usines laitières qui ont fourni des barres Klondike® à plus de 300 magasins de produits laitiers Isaly.

La barre Klondike® a été vendue uniquement en Pennsylvanie et en Ohio jusque dans les années 1970. En 1978, la distribution s’est étendue à la Floride, puis à New York et à la Nouvelle-Angleterre. Enfin, en 1982, une campagne nationale de publicité a été lancée avec le slogan « Que feriez-vous pour une barre Klondike®? » Les barres Klondike® étaient maintenant offertes dans la majorité des supermarchés aux États-Unis.

Unilever a acquis la société Isaly Klondike® en 1993 et l’entreprise a introduit les barres Klondike® au Canada au cours de la fin des années 1990. Depuis ce temps, nos délicieuses friandises glacées sont populaires auprès des Canadiens de tous âges!